







The Legislative Assembly

Elected representatives known as Members of Provincial Parliament work at The Legislative Assembly

Members of Provincial Parliament are elected from ridings across Ontario.

A Riding is an electoral district (an area of land with a specific population).

One Member of Provincial Parliament (MPP for short) is elected from each riding.



The Legislative Assembly

Currently there are 124 ridings.

Debate occurs in the Legislative Assembly as it does in the House of Commons.

It is located at Queen's Park in the City of Toronto.

The Queen is represented by the Lieutenant Governor.



Government Powers

Federal: National defense, trade, foreign policy, money, health and safety, immigration and citizenship.

Provincial: Health care, education, welfare, transportation within the province, justice, energy and the environment.

Municipal: Waste management, water and sewer, policing and protection, cultural facilities and libraries.









Who can be an MPP?

Any Ontario citizen 18 years of age and older can become an MPP.



Youngest person to be elected as an MPP is Sam Oosterhoff (Conservative, Niagara West). First elected at age of 19.



Bill Davis (Progressive Conservative, Peel North) was responsible for large infrastructure investment such as Community Colleges.

Who can be an MPP?

Any Canadian citizen 18 years of age and older can become an MPP.



Monte Kwinter (Liberal, York Centre) was the oldest MPP in Ontario history, serving until the age of 81 years.



Sir Oliver Mowat (Liberal, Oxford North) was the longest serving Premier of Ontario, holding the office for 24 years from 1872-1896.



The Lieutenant Governor

The Lt. Governor is appointed by Prime Minister.

Ensuring Ontario has a Premier who has confidence of Legislative Assembly

Summoning, proroguing and dissolving Legislative Assembly on advice of Premier.

Reading the Speech from the Throne at the start of a parliamentary session.

Giving Royal Assent to bills passed by Legislative Assembly.

Ordering elections to the Legislative Assembly



Government Ministries

The Government of Ontario is organized into ministries and each is in charge of one of the government's responsibilities.

The premier appoints MPPs to head each Ministry of the Executive Council (cabinet).

Ontario (3)

Here are some of Ministries in the province

- Aboriginal Affairs
- Agriculture and Food
- Children and Youth Services
- Citizenship and Immigration
- Correctional Services
- Education
- Energy

- Environment
- Finance
- Health and Long-Term Care
- Labour
- Natural Resources
- Training, Colleges and Universities
- Transportation